T-7 days

Image

In exactly one week, I begin my journey of a lifetime.  I will be walking.  Walking from Georgia to Maine in fact.  While some look at the task and think to themselves, this guy’s a nut, others are green with envy and wished they could join.  I’m certainly not ruling out the fact that I may be a nut, because it takes a special kind of crazy to walk through 14 states on a trail up the East Coast, but I also recognize how blessed I am in getting this unique opportunity.  The idea of living out of my pack for six months is one I’ve always wanted to attempt.  I’ve dreamed of hiking this famous footpath for years, and now I have the chance to do it.  I have the chance to do so as a “chaplain” as well.  Even better, right?  Right!  I’m looking forward to stepping out in faith to answer this call!  The Lord calls us everyday (in all kinds of ways, big and small)  to minister and be a disciple for Him as Christians.  It’s up to us, to answer.   That being said, I’m a firm believer that things happen on HIS time.  Not ours.  My goal is not only to grow spiritually on this “jaunt through the woods”, but help others see clearly the many blessings around them as God speaks to us through nature. His living word is apparent in every tree, every waterfall, every shelter, every white blaze, even every mosquito.  -(though that opinion towards the mosquito I’m fully certain will change…)  We are called to love one another.  That’s something that gets overlooked sometimes in the world today in my opinion.  We forget to help our neighbors out, and we often forget to be friendly.  From the simplicity of a smile or wave, to a phone call telling someone you love them and how much they mean to you, I’m going to set out to help others, and to be that friend on and off the trail.  Be quick to listen, and slow to judge. 

-HARDTACK

 

5 thoughts on “T-7 days

  1. You were made for this my friend! If at ANY point, you feel like giving up, call me. I will come to where you are and do whatever I can to help you complete this calling. It will be the hardest/best thing that you have ever done!

  2. In my opinion the gnats were worse than the mosquitoes! I started April 4 in 2012 and it was an amazing journey. People will notice something different about you and open up in conversation, especially in a dark shelter or when walking. God is so good and He will give you many opportunities to bring glory to Him. Blessings on your trip and if you need anything let me know!

  3. Josh, all of us are so excited about your commisioning. We will have you constantly in our prayers. I personally am beleiving that you have been “chosen” to bring forth THE WORD OF GOD to all you encounter and this is the beginning of the great revival that has been talked about that will start in the Appalachian mountains. Over 6.5 billion people on this earth and “you” have been chosen to lead. May God be with you in every step you take.
    Love you from your crazy old Uncle!

Leave a Reply

